Brown Tail Moth and Generosity

Thoughts for the day: Are you a generous person? Is there someone that needs your help? Are you willing to give it?

btmoth1

Have you ever heard of brow-tail-moth-rash? I never had until someone mentioned it. Actually it was several someones that told me about it when they examined the rash forming on my arm and neck.I learned a lot about the moth itself, the rash and the most effective treatments. But, what I really learned about it was GENEROSITY.

What do you think of when you hear the word generosity? When I looked it up on vocabulary.com, generosity is a quality that’s a lot like unselfishness. We have all been created to be generous but so many times we miss the mark.

Jesus teaches us to be generous in many ways. It may be with our financial contribution towards a worthy ministry, or physical help with the elderly. I never thought I’d see generosity  in the way I experienced last night.

I went up to the golf club and all of the women knew I was itchy and they all pulled out their sprays ready to spray me down. You see, if you get brown-tail-moth-rash, there is a very powerful prescription spay that works instantly. There I was, standing on the deck of the golf club, sweetly being sprayed from head to toe.

You would think that one would do that when you’ve known someone for years, but this my friends, was the generosity of some ladies that I’ve just met in the past month. GENEROSITY!

Acts 20:35 give us a great example of Jesus’ words:

In all things I have shown you that by working hard in this way we must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’”

And in Matthew 6:21 we are told that where our treasure is, there our heart will be. These ladies were spraying me with their whole hart, no strings attached, just wanting to help me. One woman gave me her magic spray to take home. That’s generosity!

Where’s your heart? When you’re being generous towards others is it for your own good or for their good?

Lord, help us to examine our hearts and give generously the way you ask us to. Amen.IMG_1158

Leave a Reply

