Gettin Gone…It’s the Simple Pleasures…Beth Farley

 

beth 3

 

As we sat this morning eating our breakfast, I asked, “How’s your truck-tire, aka a donut?” He replied, “Its gettin gone.” I knew what he meant but others might not. He was implying that the donut was delicious and almost done. It’s the simple things in life that gives him pleasure.donut-179983_640

Are you caught up in worldly stuff or materialistic things? Are you needing to simplify?

My client with Alzheimer’s most often indirectly helps me grasp what’s real in life; relationships, fun in the sun, long car rides without a destination in mind and enjoying a meal with friends and family.

So often we get caught up and down-right-lost in the things that really don’t mean anything at all. Job said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised. Job 1:21 NIV

If you’ve thought anything about simplicity, you may have been led to believe it’s a panacea for everything in life. After all, what good can’t come from simplifying? I’ve read numerous articles on how simplifying will promise better relationships, less stress, increased productivity and personal empowerment. Is this true?

Yes, all of those things are true, I’m living it.  Eleven years ago I had to sell my 40 acre farm with all of the furnishings. Then I bought a small home only to find myself selling that a year later. That’s not the end of it though. Several years after that, I sold but yet another home and I gave away all of my furniture, sold items and headed North with nothing but my clothes, a few personal heirlooms and my dignity.

At first I was compelled to constantly and negatively  focus on what I had to give up to feel complete but as soon as I started living my life without that thought and surrendered my feelings to God, I became less resistant to the procedure.

Simplifying helped me to do the following:

1. Focus on what’s important for my body, mind and spirit.
2. Achieve things in small steps by weeding out the bad things.
3. Realize that simplicity takes time but if I was truly ready to invest, I would not stray too far from what my outlined path.
4. Helped me realize that I can focus on a commitment to myself. (I’m worth it)

Simplifying empowered me and brought me joy!

I don’t mourn what I’ve sold or lost. I don’t mourn the things that are not meant to be mine. I don’t worry about all of the things that are not in my control, which are many.

I now find great pleasure in spending time with my client who likes long rides to nowhere, smiles at the sun shining on his face and enjoys making his truck-tire-donuts “gettin gone.”

Needing to give something up? Have you recently simplified? I would like to hear how you’ve achieved this. Please join us on livingbygrace as I host the topic of simplifying.livingbygracepic.jp

Leave a Reply

