Stop Being so Fake…Beth Farley

I was taking some pictures of my mom’s flowers in her yard. Her orange lily was so vibrant that it almost looked fake. Once I really looked at the picture, I felt some words welling up in me about being artificial ourselves. 20150713_12351920150716_123158-2

What is it with people being so fake? Just when you think you might know a person, they turn out to be someone you never imagined! How can you avoid getting close to someone, friend or companion that might actually be bogus?

Am I just a poor judge of character or just a magnet for fraudulant people to be attracted to? I am really trying to figure these questions out. Who is going to be genuine to me and who is going to be fake? It’s about meeting new people and not getting sucker-punched by them. It’s about developing a friendship; that’s all.

Since my move over a year ago, I’ve had the priveledge of meeting tons of people. I stayed in Texas and met some really sweet women and then I met a woman who became incredibly fake. It hurt. I thought she was my new friend. I was left in the dark wondering where she came from?

I’ve recently felt that way with some people that have crossed my path in Maine just since January. Is it me? Do I expect too much? I try to decipher who is nice from who is fake without thinking of the people who have let me down; another words, I try hard not to compare. But I do however slip from time to time.

I have put my radar out for the fake’s that are coming into my life. They may be amazing people for a week or even a month but then they show themselves, their true phony selves. You try to see them as when you first met; you thought they were good and genuine but only to find yourself asking, “What happened? Who are they really”

So, here is what I’ve figured out recently: My thoughts, not necessarily Biblical.

Nice is genuine, fake is insincere.
Nice is being a good person, fake is trying to be a quick make-believe friend or more.
Nice is holding the door open; fake is slamming it halfway there.
Nice is being friendly but not-in-your-face, over-done friendly.
Nice is being loving without conditions.
Nice is accepting of who you are with all of your perfections and imperfections.

What does God say about being fake?

Don’t be a hyprocrite. he tells us to first take the plank out of our own eyes ,then we will see clearly to remove the speck from our brother’s eye. (Matthew 7:4-5)

Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrite’s!  You shut the kingdom of heaven in men’s faces. You yourselves do not enter, nor will you let those enter who are trying to. (Matthew 23:13-14)

Another words; being fake is being a hyprocrite. I am who I am. I have my flaws and I have my strengths. I do not pretend to be someone I am not. I do not want anyone in my life that is not genuine with their own flaws. Please don’t give me any fabricated stories. Just be yourself; truthful.

I’m not a film star, I am an actress.
Being a film star is such a false life, lived for fake values and for publicity. Vivienne Leigh

Your only obligation in any lifetime is to be true to yourself.
Being true to anyone else or anything else is not only impossible
but the mark of a fake messiah. Richard Bach

What are your thoughts on being fake? Have you caught yourself being a little counterfeit lately? 20150717_185259-2

Leave a Reply

