Raw Oysters and God

Finding Adventure with Raw Oysters

I’m experiencing a whole new adventure in my life. I’m in awe with the things I’ve take part of, places I’m visiting and people I’m meeting. Are you enjoying your life? Are you counting each day as a blessing? Proverbs 10:22 The blessing of the Lord makes rich, and he adds no sorrow with it.

20150722_184220

Recently I had the opportunity to eat some local raw oysters!. I was instructed to chew three times then swallow. With twisted lips and rolling eyes, I did it! Chew! Chew! Chew! SWALLOW! Wide eyed-ready to reach for my full glass of water to chase it down, I stopped and realized that I like raw oysters! I was astonished with the whole experience

I had an epiphany while swallowing. I immediately thought to myself, how many times do I forget to be thankful for my new experiences? Do I take them for granted? I was suddenly owning up to the fact that I forget to thank God for the little things in life; swallowing oysters whole, the sound of the rain on the trees, the fire crackling in the camp fireplace.

It’s pretty common that we don’t thank God while we’re struggling in life. No one can really be thankful while being diagnosed with a deathly illness or have lost a job. But, have you ever found yourself forgetting to be thankful for the little things in life? I’m trying very hard to not miss an experience. I’m trying to be thankful at the end of the day while resting with God. I’ve even made myself a thankful journal that I write in most days. Being thankful is so important to our growth in our spiritual lives.

In order to be thankful with the BIG and the SMALL we have to trust in the Sovereignty of God.

When you feel as though you’re struggling with being thankful remember that
1) God is in control of whatever is happening. Just thank Him for that.
2) Whether or not we see it or understand it, there is purpose and be thankful for it.
3) Fear and doubt are conquered by faith and a grateful heart.20150723_084756

Leave a Reply

