Digging Deeper

How Can I Help?

wallet-637042_1280

It’s awful when you have a loved one or a good friend or even a great charitable organization that needs your financial help and you simply just don’t have the money to give.  I’ve been in this situation several times. I’ve wanted to give financially but was unable to do so. You?

Recently I found myself saying, “God knows the situation and will provide. Just have faith.” But in all reality, I wanted to be able to be the provider but the request was too big for me. There was no way I could do it.

As parents, friends, sisters, brothers, cousins, Aunts, Uncles and grandparents, we find that we want to be the fixer of a financial mess for someone but at times might not be in the situation to help out. So, how can we help them and relay that God is the one that is providing?

Through faith and prayer,we can take their struggles to God. We can request that He watch over them and meet their need.We can always pray for a situation; nothing is too big or too small for God. I remember a time when some sweet lady-friends brought me a coffee and prayed with me right in my dining room. To this day, the memory still warms my heart.

Did you ever think that God may have put you in the situation to increase your faith? It may be a battle between your flesh and His will. Sometimes we have to give with blind faith.  I thought about that the times that I reached deeper into my own 1/2 empty pockets and helped out anyway.

Also, what if God is drawing this person closer to Him? I’ve been so broke that I was digging into the change jar for a can of formula for my baby. (Many years ago) I prayed so hard for money to come in and it always did one way or another. I just had to have faith in Jesus.

It’s all about discernment. We have to have the knowledge and discernment on how to handle the situation. Do we dig deeper or not? If you are in this situation and don’t have the money to give, know that God will always be ready to hear our prayers and guide you.

20150723_084756

 

Philippines 1:9-10  And it is my prayer that your love may abound more and more, with knowledge and all discernment, so that you may approve what is excellent, and so be pure and blameless for the day of Christ.

Leave a Reply

