Hanging with Debbie-Downers?

Who Have You Been Spending Your Time With?

Thought for the day: Does it matter who we spend the majority of our time with?

It was so incredibly refreshing to spend some time with a Christian today; someone who was not afraid to share his testimony and life. Someone who was positive and not a Debbie-Downer!

In the same way that we spend time with God, we should also spend time with other Christians. In doing so, we will become encouraged in our faith and realize that we are not the only ones that are struggling with life’s issues.

Beyond being encouraged by other Christians, we are also instructed to engage in fellowship with other Christians. Hebrews 10:25 tells us to assemble with other believers.

We are all a part of God’s family; maybe we’re not part of the same congregation, but God is not just about church family. Spend time with all Christians. We need each other in order to function properly. Ephesians 2:19 and Romans 12:5 talks about this.

When I need encouragement, I’d rather talk to one of my Christian friends. I know they will pray for me as I would for them. They will walk with me during difficult times. Hebrews 10:24.

We also need to hang together because there is so much negative influence in the world. When we spend time with other believers it helps us to re-focus. Our friends will affect us, whether positively or negatively. Choosing to spend time with those who really care, who will pray for you and are upbeat, is God’s way of working in us.

I don’t often share my struggles with others; call it pride or just my being introverted; but when I have the opportunity to share with other Christians of how I have triumphed through my own struggles, it not only helps me grow but them as well.

Relationships that are rooted in God’s truth exhibits love and understanding and demonstrates that we truly belong to God. John 13:34-35.

As you make the decision of who you want to spend your time with, remember to ask God to help you select the right friends. He will be glad to provide wisdom and discernment as you choose.women studying bible

Leave a Reply

