Writing While Waiting

 

writing while waiting

 

If you have any spare time, what do you do with it?

Proverbs 31:27…She carefully watches everything in her household and suffers nothing from laziness.

 It was a sunny day and unusually hot and humid. I was cruising along the highway when I saw red brake lights ahead. I thought it might be construction but to my dismay, it was an accident. I ended up being stuck in non-stop-traffic for over an hour. What did I do? I took out my laptop and began to write.

I am always looking for just a few extra moments to be able to write my thoughts down, but, I’m not always that proficient. There are times that I take my spare moments and become lazy. It’s okay to rest; for the Bible tells us to do so; (Genesis 2:3) but, have you had those moments where God has prompted you to do something else and you just didn’t feel like it? Guilty as charged; I am.

What do you do in your spare time?

This massive traffic jam made me think about the Proverbs 31 Woman who did so much with her spare time. She had faith. She respected her husband and marriage. She nurtured her children.  She was conscious enough to take care of her body. She was always helping friends and neighbors and her husband. She was careful of the finances. She was willingly wanting to work with her hands, praised God and did not grumble. She was creating an inviting atmosphere of warmth in her home and worked diligently to complete her daily tasks. She also obtained the inner beauty that only came from Christ.

Her ability to do so much always fascinates me. I have had a hard time during various seasons of my life achieving at least one of these attributes, not to mention all of these beautiful characteristics.  What about you?

Today, her character reminds me that I can keep on the course. Through God’s grace I can strive to be more of a noble woman; a woman filled with Godly character.

So, here I was watching the smoke in the distance, complaining about the heat and having my schedule messed with and yet, I was given an opportunity to write for God for an hour. I was given the opportunity to gaze upon Him and ponder my faith in Him. How am I acting towards my finances? How am I doing with my time of service? Am I paying close attention to my health?

I want to strive to serve God with every aspect of my life. I want to do all that I can to live my life for His purpose with diligence, forgiveness and repentance. This is not about being perfect but more about being mindful.

What about you? 20150723_084756

Proverbs 31:26 She seeks His will for her life an follows His ways.

Leave a Reply

