Being Nourishing to Others

Food Saver Food Processor…How to Preserve Our Lives

dehydrated oranges

I’ve recently met someone who has taught me about what’s involved in vacuum packing food with a food saver. It’s very interesting stuff. He preserves all of his vegetables and fruits and even meats to keep them fresh and void of freezer burn.  He grazes off of these foods all winter long when fresh veggies and fruits are not available.

Of course, you know me; I can’t learn something new without it having some sort of impact on my heart, so I asked myself, how can I be nourishing towards others.

The first thing I do for others, is try not to judge them. I try to see people and things for what they truly are. God tells us that outward appearance is not what really matters.
Matthew 5:8…Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

Another way I try to be nourishing towards others is taking a prayer request seriously. I never shoulder a prayer request and turn it into an opportunity to gossip or create drama. When someone confides in me, I keep it that way. I protect the request and continue to pray in my own time with God.

Leviticus 19:16 You shall not go around as a slanderer among people, and you shall not stand up against the life of your neighbor: I am the LORD.

I am nourishing to others by being there for them. Because all things are inherently connected, no-one-being can exist on its own, isolated and apart from the rest of creation.

Colossians 2: 6-7 … So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught.and overflowing with thankfulness.

Nourishment is central  wellbeing of others and to our wellbeing. When we are able to nourish someones heart and soul, we too receive nourishment.

WHEN YOU FIND YOURSELF IN NEED OF SPIRITUAL NOURISHMENT, IT IS IN THE OPPORTUNITIES TO SERVE OTHERS THAT YOU WILL FIND THE ABUNDANCE YOU SEEK. (Steve Maraboli)

IMG_1158

Leave a Reply

