Canning or Writing

tomatoes

I’ve had a wonderful day watching some tomato-canning being done. When it comes to being domestic, I prefer to buy a jar of sauce and use a hot glue gun instead of a sewing machine. I don’t know why either because my mom taught me better than that. She has always been domestic, making her own bread and sewing all of my clothes.

No matter how many times I’ve attempted to bake bread, it has always come out lumpy and dense. I’ve made more meals that have been suited for the trash than the plate. It took me many years to realize that I’m just not that domestic. As I age I find that it doesn’t matter because there are things that I can do and do them well.             tomato jars

“What am I then if I’m not domestic?” I would ask myself. Why did it take me so long to realize that I’m not good at some domestic things? Because I was too busy trying to covet other women’s gifts and not seeing my own.

I am loving and giving. I am a writer and organizer. My green thumb is with inside plants not an outside garden. I can entertain with the best of them because I can color coordinate my plates to the napkins. But, don’t ask me to fill the plates with anything too difficult to make. This weekend I couldn’t figure out all of the equations involved in canning tomatoes but I could wash the dishes; it worked!

Do we feel that others owe us validation to make us comfortable with our own talents? If so, we are way wrong. We don’t need anyone to tell us we’re good at anything. If we know that we are living out our lives the way that God intended, then we will be successful in creating our own happy memories.writing while waiting

Take the time to celebrate in who you are. Go do some canning; if that’s your thing. While you do what you’re good at, I’ll write about it.

Beth

Leave a Reply

