Split in Two

broken heart

Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you wished you could be in two places at one time? I remember when my children were little and I had to go to work for a year, I thought I would die. Taking care of my children was the only thing I ever wanted to do and when a second income was temporarily needed, I did what I had to do; but every day I desired to be home with them while I was in the office. I simply could not be in two places at one time.

This past week proposed to be a huge challenge for me and all I could do was cry out, “I need two of me right now.” Ever felt that way?

I remember watching the movie, A Walk to Remember with my daughter years ago. The female, Jamie said to Landon, the man who ultimately fell in love with her, that she had a wish list and of all the things she hoped for to do in her life, one was to be in two places at once. One memorable date had Landon taking Jamie to the state line. He excitedly positioned her on the line in just the right way, and when Jamie asked him what he was doing he tells her “You’re in two places at once”.

Life isn’t that simple though. We have so much tugging at us all of the time. People are demanding things, families are asking for help, friends are in need of assistance and jobs are pulling us  in so many different directions. We simply can’t be in two places at once.

I became a caretaker and had to make some decisions that made me feel awful. I had to be with her but how could I leave him? No one truly understood the predicament I was in. So many times I wanted to be in two places at one time and I was torn by the decisions I made; decisions that were unfavorable to some were favorable to others. 

Aren’t we glad God is everywhere? He is omnipresent. He can be with me the same time He is with you. He can be healing her cancer the same time he is with the doctor delivering a healthy baby. He can comfort your heartache while comforting another.  I’ve never understood that holy magical concept until I grew to know His grace and mercy; until I learned to trust in what God was placing on my plate.

When we can’t be somewhere else while we’re here,  we need to be reminded that God will take care of the “somewhere else” in our lives while we are tending to the “here.” He will always work things out and He will always be everywhere we need Him to be at all times.

Jeremiah 23:23,24
Am I a God at hand, saith the Lord, and not a God afar off? Can any hide himself in secret places that I shall not see him? saith the Lord. Do not I fill heaven and earth? saith the Lord.

Leave a Reply

