Let’s Get to the Finish Line With Beauty

2015 fall 2

On my way through the curvy country roads of Maine, I couldn’t help but find myself being captivated by the unbelievable array of fall colors. The brilliant candy-apple reds, blazing fire yellows and auburn pumpkin oranges were speaking to me. I had to stop and feel the moment; be in it and stay with it for as long as my schedule would allow. I had so many other pressing things that needed to be done but all at once my heart was fixed on God’s love. I felt the need to ask Him to carry me to the finish line of my never ending list of things to do…and God, can you help me finish with beauty; pleasing to your sight? I continued to ask.

How does God do that? How does He take us completely out of our busy lives, break us of our impurities all through things like the breathtaking Fall leaves?

Why does He do this when we are so ugly in heart and undeserving?

fall 2015 leaves 1

It’s all about God’s gracious grip. God takes our “ugly-start” to the beautiful-finish line.

He who began a good work in you will be faithful to complete it. (Philippines 1:6)

As a parent, I understand this resolve. When my children would stumble and carry ugly hardened hearts, I didn’t disown them but rather helped them get back up. I had many days of reprimanding and punishing them but never casting them out. Why? Because I wanted them to see God’s grace through me and know that He will take them to the beautiful-finish line as well.

God engenders the same relationship with us. Upon our salvation we “become His children” (john 1:12) He does not punish us nor bash us; He simply brings us to the finish line so that we may have eternal life with Him.

“Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit” (Eph. 1:13).fall 2015 3

Look around you. Look at what He has given you. Look and see AND KNOW that He IS going to take your “ugly-start” to the beautiful-finish line.

 

Look at the beauty around you. Did you wake up with an ugly hardened heart? Take hope in knowing it doesn’t have to stay that way. You can get a beautiful make-over by God and run with endurance towards the beautiful finish line. Come and visit with us as I host on livingbygrace.livingbygracepic.jp

 

Hebrews 12:1 NASB

Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,

Leave a Reply

