Ugh, What is Your Will Lord?

th panic

We all experience times where we struggle giving up our will. Some of us possess a stronger will than others but none-the-less, we all struggle giving in to someone or something. But, what if it’s God on the other end of the struggle? What if He’s asking you to give up your will for His will? Not as easy, is it? (Hopefully not)

No other sacrifice can compare with a perfect and whole-burnt offering; an offering of our will. Saint Faustia was directed to be a continual sacrifice and to always do the will of the Holy Reverent Father. He also directs us to do the same thing, but what if we just don’t understand what His will is for us? How can we avoid the confusion and know its His will leading us or our own?

  • First of all, we can stay connected by petitioning God for understanding. Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.(1 Thessalonians: 5:16-18) Prayer brings everything to fruition. I pray all of the time. I don’t necessarily pray just in the morning or night. I most often will pray when feel the urge from God. It could be idle at a traffic light, waiting on a meal, or walking through my neighborhood. Find your own opportunity to chat with Jesus
  • Secondly, I recite the Lord’s Prayer; not by just mouthing the words, but rather by reciting it with all of my heart and allow His poetic words to soak into my soul. (Matthew 6:9-13)
  • Last thing I do is wait. Ugh, no one likes to wait. I want answers now. I want to know now what to do, but sometimes I have to be still and know that God is on His throne directing my life.   Be still and know that God is God. (Psalm 46:10) We have to know by faith that He has our best interests at heart.  He will never direct us down the wrong path, however, we may have to walk though some murky water first to get to the other side of the problem. God uses many forms of His artistry to work on my stubborn heart; He will do the same for you.

At times God will allow me to walk through the valley of the shadow of death(Psalm 23:4) for His namesake. I don’t consider them trials or spiritual tests. I consider those times to be times of Jesus beaconing me to crawl closer.   It’s really about the heart more than it is about the mind. I can be determined to do what God asks of me but if my heart is not into it, my actions are void. My desires will speak louder than His will.

How about you? Experiencing a battle of the will?

Pray and ask God to give you a more-willing-heart… to be a whole-burnt offering which is the offering of your will.

20150614_144541

Leave a Reply

