There’s Nothing Like Knowing…

 

A_Flower_Blossoms

There’s nothing like knowing when you’re being prayed for. It’s like a warm blanket on a chilly day.

I had a health scare this week and my first instinct was to lay my petition before God. But beyond my own chat with Him,  I reached out to a wonderful friend back in Missouri and asked for prayer. I have not seen her for over two years but she’s always a phone call away, a text away and an email away.

Dear Friend, I began in my text. I need immediate prayer…Within minutes my phone was flowing with scriptures. My email was inundated with warm words and prayerful thoughts.  I immediately felt confident that my tests were going to be okay.

I love the words penned by Benjamin Franklin: Work as if you were to live a hundred years, pray as if you were to die tomorrow. — That’s beckoning prayer, petitioning prayer, prayer as if you need help, and need it now! As I sat later in the day, I came across this scripture:

Romans 12:11-12 Never be lazy, but work hard and serve the Lord enthusiastically. Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying. 

My friend and I kept on praying until I received the positive news. Now we are rejoicing in the goodness of God. Today, I not only got to visit with my friend but I was once again reminded that there’s nothing like knowing when you’re being prayed for.

 

 

Leave a Reply

