Plagues…

 

As I was reading about the plagues in the Bible this morning kinda fits with how I feel today, I couldn’t help but take such a familiar story and really dissect it and ask how it could apply to my life. For a while I couldn’t come up with anything other than the good ol’ “be faithful.”

As the day has gone by and I’ve taken some more time to think about the story I couldn’t stop asking myself, “When are you going to give your whole heart to God?” We say we trust God in helping us through situations and strong holds but do we give our whole heart and mind to having that faith? How many times does God tell us that the continual fast food will harden our arteries and eventually hurt our hearts? How many times does God speak to the smoker about cigarettes and damage they will do the lungs; or the alcoholic that the continual drinking will hurt the liver; and the drug addict that the drugs will damage the brain. These are drastic things. Can you imagine how much faith Moses and Aaron had to have to keep going to the Pharaoh over and over again, requesting the freedom of God’s people and over and over again the Pharaoh’s heart would be hardened.

What about asking ourselves some more simplified questions that God might be asking of us. Beth…how many times have I spoken to you about your  jealousy of what others might have that you have not? It will drive you into debt. Beth…How many times have I talked to you about gossip? It will bite you back and Beth…what have I spoken to you about lying? It will leave you friendless. Ouch!!! I’m a pretty honest person but I believe I can fall into any of these if I took my focus off of God.

Can you think of specific things that God is asking you to give your whole heart, mind and soul to Him about? Surely we are not anywhere near the personality of the Pharaoh in Exodus and have turned our hearts so hard that we can’t hear God speak, have we? I know I don’t want to be compared to a hardened heart Pharaoh. I want to give my ALL to Christ.

Isaiah 53:5-6 tells us: But he was pierced for our transgressions,
he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was on him,
and by his wounds we are healed.
6 We all, like sheep, have gone astray,
each of us has turned to our own way;
and the Lord has laid on him
the iniquity of us all. NIV

Don’t turn to your own way! It’s dangerous. Don’t allow your heart to be so hardened that you can’t even hear God guide you. We have the Holy Spirit who lives in us and guides us. We can choose His way or the highway…

8 thoughts on “Plagues…

  1. Linda April 9, 2013 / 6:18 am

    Yes, a reminder to keep on listening and go “His” way. Thanks, Beth!

    Like

  2. evefulton April 17, 2013 / 10:37 am

    ‘Can you think of specific things that God is asking you to give your whole heart, mind and soul to Him about?’

    Yes, I can think of a very specific thing that God is asking me to give my full commitment to right now and I have let Him down over and over. Thanks for your gentle ‘nudge’ – better for me to open my heart now and hear God talking to me than to wait for Him to send a plague to get my attention.

    Hope you are keeping well – I haven’t been following my blogs for a few weeks due to a busy family schedule over the Easter period and I’m just getting to catch up on them now.

    Like

    • Beth Farley April 17, 2013 / 12:55 pm

      Thanks for visiting. Yes, I too have so much to surrender and at times I let it go but MOST times I hang onto whatever it is. God gets our attention in many different ways; each unique to who we are in HIM. i am getting better and thank you for your kind thoughts.
      Beth

      Like

      • evefulton April 17, 2013 / 5:04 pm

        The ‘specific thing’ I referred to earlier was my blog, but when I worked through what God was really saying to me He took me in a completely different direction. Thanks, Beth, for prompting a very valuable insight – God really used this message to speak to me today.

        Like

  3. Lynn Severance April 17, 2013 / 12:43 pm

    Beth, I appreciated all that you shared in this blog post but what hit me as a new perspective was how you compared the “ills” of this day to the plagues in the days of Moses and how God gave His warnings but the people did not hear ( or would not listen ). God wants us “free” from the ills of the day – both the obvious life style choices that bring ruin to our bodies and minds – but it also can be the “little foxes” that beset each of us ( the judgements, the gossip) that come in to distract and kill.

    It seems to me that when we hear the words, “Let my people go” for our day , it is a turning towards the Lord that I need to heed as I let go of any of the above mentioned activities or qualities that hinder me from drawing close to Him. It is a turning from our culture’s promotion of what a “good life” looks like to the “quality life” that God wants for me. I am to “go to Him” for that and leave the other behind.

    Very thought provoking.

    Like

    • Beth Farley April 17, 2013 / 12:57 pm

      Amen Lynn. Thank you for encouraging me as well to run towards to goal. It’s a struggle at times but we all have each other to encourage and pray for. Thanks for dropping in again.
      Beth

      Like

Leave a Reply

