Calloused Knees

 

She asked me, “Do you have calloused knees?” “What so you mean calloused knees”? I replied. Well, you always tell me that you are on your knees in prayer. I replied, “I like it that way. It is better than being prostrate because at least I can still get up.” In all seriousness, I do spend a lot of time on my knees in prayer. Sometimes sitting in the chair or taking a walk just doesn’t do it for me. I have to get on my knees and allow the Holy Spirit to hold me there, in awe of Jesus, in that position, just the two of us. Sometimes there just is no other place to be.

This was a conversation I had with an acquaintance of mine years ago. I’ve known her for years and have planted seeds along our journey together. She is a believer of God, but at the time was not one that quite grasped  the blood of Christ saving us of our sins. She had not quite grasped the meaning of the word grace until months ago. Her heart was turned. It was like all of the mustard seeds were sprouting right before my eyes. I heard words come out of her mouth that I had not heard before. I have been sharing with her what I thought was God’s will was for her life. I explained though that if I was hearing from God correctly that He would tell her too.

I remember the day she called me and said that she had finally gotten down on her knees and prayed for this situation and that while she was there she had no strength left in her. She said she felt in total awe of coming before God on her knees in prayer. I could hear her voice tremble and could envision the tears rolling down her cheeks. I felt so blessed that she shared her knee bending experience with me. To this day we mostly email each other but we stay in touch and talk about our calloused knees.

When I am on my knees, I go through what I call The Holy Hush. That means no talking Beth, just listen to Him. I enter into the presence of God and there I allow Him to wash over me, and speak to me.

Hebrews 5:7 HCSB   During His earthly life, He offered prayers and appeals with loud cries and tears to the One who was able to save Him from death, and He was heard because of His reverence.

For Jesus, commitment to prayer sprang from a vital, loving relationship with the Father and the Father’s loving presence in His life. Prayer was His lifeline. Why must this also be true for us? What are your thoughts? I challenge you to get down on your knees (if able) and just allow that time to be in awe of Him. He will meet you there.

Lord, I pray that for as long as I can do it, you remind me to get down on my knees and commune with you. I thank you that I am still able to get down and can still get up. I thank you that no matter where I am though or if I’m sitting, standing or kneeling, you hear every request.
Thank you for the gift of praying for family and friends. 

2 thoughts on “Calloused Knees

  1. Linda April 10, 2013 / 4:51 pm

    I just love the way you wrote this!

    Like

  2. Beth Farley April 10, 2013 / 5:14 pm

    Thanks. It is what it is.I’m thankful for my working knees.

    Like

Leave a Reply

