In a Door-mat? Who Would Have Thought!

 

 

What does that word Belief say to you; if anything? In front of my door, I have a door-mat that says, “All Things Are Possible, If You Believe.” Mark 9:23. It’s embarrassing to admit that I have walked into my home numerous times without even looking at the door-mat. I’ve wiped my feet on it, but without looking down upon the words.

I have been faced with many fears and anxieties over the last year and at times I have lost my belief; not in God, but in what He’s capable of doing in me through these trials. Shame on me! I have at times,  on my own accord, shut my heart and made myself unavailable to Him.

Well, today, as I was out taking my prayer walk; in the warmer weather may I add,  and I had an opportunity to come face to face with the Holy Spirit. While I was rejoicing in my ability to walk a little longer today, I was also open to listening to God.  There was no mistaking that this was an appointed time with HIM this morning. I was almost in a slowed-down-trance, focused on everything around me. Before I knew it, I was praising him for the cloudy sky, the bare trees, the wind softly blowing, and the green grass that never died this winter. As I stopped a few times to inhale it all, I could hear the birds chirping and watched the squirrels scampering from branch to branch.

On my way back to my house, for the first time in probably months, I looked down at my door-mat and said, “I believe God.” When entering the house, I grabbed my coffee, sat down and just praised Him for revealing Himself to me, reminding me that I can believe in Him and He will never let me down. Look at the following promises of God.

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life. – John 3:16

To Him give all the prophets witness, that through His name, whoever believes in Him shall receive remission of sins. – Acts 10:43

But as many as received Him, to them gave He power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe in His name: Which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.– John 1:12-13 abides on him. – John 3:36

Jesus cried and said, ‘he who believes in Me, believes not in Me, but in Him that sent Me. And he that sees Me sees Him that sent Me. I have come as a light into the world, that whoever

He who believes in the Son has everlasting life; and he who does not obey the Son shall not see life, but the wrath of God

believes in Me should not abide in darkness. And if any man hears My words, and believes not, I judge him not: for I came not to judge the world, but to save the world.’  John 12:44-47

And Jesus said to them, ‘I am the bread of life: he that comes to Me shall never hunger; and he that believes in Me shall never thirst.’ – John 6:35

Verily, verily, I say to you, he that believes in Me has everlasting life. – John 6:47

Thank you God for using my door-mat of all things to remind me that I can believe in You and You will never leave me nor forsake me. Even in times of fear, doubt and anxiety or those very quiet times; You are present and working. Oh if I would only allow my heart to be open to that victory every day, I can’t imagine how much better my day would go. I give this day to You!

What about you? Is there something in your life that you are not believing and trusting God in? If so, rest assured that He knows everything about you and what you are going through. He is right  there with you and will not let you go. I don’t do this often, but if you need me to pray for you, here I am. Let me know. I will do it!!!

Leave a Reply

