Just One Day…Beth Farley

meditating

Why is it that people make comments like, “It’s not good to be alone; or, you need to get out more often?” What is the matter with being a hermit? What is the matter with not wanting to get out into the cold dark night or dreary, drizzly, day just to say, “I got out today!”

I can never get lonely in the Lord’s presence. I call it my “Hidden life with God.” It’s a place where in my solidarity I feel alive and well. It’s a time where I can enjoy the monastic life such as the monks, well, not quite that extreme. It’s my time to dine with Jesus. It’s my time where I seek my spiritual path and listen to Him. I can sing, read, or simply be still.  I bet there are people mingling at restaurants or around the bars who are very lonely. Heck, they may be the people who are sitting in our church pews. Maybe you are one of them?crying-woman1

I would like to see an increase in what I would call a modern-day-hermit movement. We are called, every one of us, to be still and pray, especially now because of the danger that lurks around us. Maybe we are!!! Maybe we are finally seeing more and more need for God to bring this nation back to its roots? Maybe it’s also indicative of the loss of religious order? We should all be spending more time in solitude, praying for our country, our leaders and our men and women who are fighting for our freedom.

Could you imagine how effective we could be if we just took some time to stop and get alone with God and pray? Prayer is incredibly effective but not if we’re not doing our part by being alone with the Great Jehovah Jireh: The Lord who provides. (Gen. 15:1-6;Gen.21:1-6)

How about putting down the TV remote, fold down the lap top, turn your cell phone on silent, throw the newspaper into the recycling bin and get alone with God. Christ put down everything for you when he went off for 40 days in the desert to be in solitude and prayed.(Luke 4:2)

What do you think?  If you had the opportunity to have just one day to yourself, how would you spend it? Or even a couple of hours; would you at least dedicate some time to pray for our leadership in this country, or  peace for this country? Think about it…What would you do if you had a day to yourself? Come and join us at livingbygrace for a conversation. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

livingbygracepic-jp

Leave a Reply

